Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs

SCB Board of Governors

SCB's Board meeting in March 2015, Front Royal, Virginia, USA
SCB Board Members in March 2015. From left to right, top row: Conservation Biology Editor-in-Chief Mark Burgman, Eddie Game,
SCB staff member Doug Parsons*, Carlos Carroll, Stephen Awoyemi, Ahimsa Campos-Arceiz, Ron Abrams,
SCB staff member Nate Spillman, Paul Beier, Richard Kingsford, SCB staff member Kat Diersen*, Piero Visconti. 
Bottom row: Chris Parsons*, John Cigliano, SCB staff members Cathy McIntosh, David Johns*, Kate Christen, Jessa Madosky, 
Rodrigo Medellin, Nora Bynum*, Alex Dehgan*, SCB Executive Director Geri Unger*, SCB staff member Shonda Foster,
James Watson, SCB staff member Lauren Krizel*, Rurik List, SCB staff member Lauren Bailey. Not pictured: Emily Darling
Leo Douglas, Bege Jonsson, Andrew Knight, Carolyn Lundquist, Nathalie Pettorelli, Sadie Ryan, Cagan Sekercioglu*,
Eleanor Sterling, Karen Beard*, Heather DeCaluwe, Gary Tabor, Mike Mascia, Sarah Reed, Jacqualine Grant. *Former staff/board 

 

Executive Committee Members

President

Mike Mascia
Conservation International
Virginia
United States
mmascia@conservation.org
Chair of the Conference Committee; Liaison to the Audit Committee and Executive Committee
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2021

President Elect

Adina Merenlender
University of California
California
United States
adinam@berkeley.edu
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2023

Past President

James Watson
Wildlife Conservation Society
University of Queensland
Australia
jwatson@wcs.org
Chair of the Governance Committee
Term ends as Past President: 30 June 2019

Treasurer

Heather DeCaluwe
Colorado
United States
heather.decaluwe@outlook.com
Term ends :30 June 2019

Secretary

Marit Wilkerson
USAID, Africa Bureau
Washington, DC
United States
mlwilkerson@ucdavis.edu
Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee; Liaison to the Awards Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2019

 

Section Members

Africa Section

Martin NGANJE
Environment & Forestry, Africa
Cameroon
martin.nganje@gmail.com
Section Governing Board President 
Term ends: 31 December 2020

Asia Section

Antony J. Lynam
Wildlife Conservation Society
Center for Global Conservation
Thailand
t.lynman@wcs.com
Section Governing Board President 

Term ends: 30 June 2019

Europe Section

Bengt Gunnar Jonnson
Mid-Sweden University
Sweden
Bengt-Gunnar.Jonsson@miun.se
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 31 December 2020

Latin America and Caribbean Section

Olivier Chassot
Great Green Macaw Program - Tropical Science Center
Costa Rica
olivier.chassot@mail.com
Section Governing Board President 
Term ends: 31 Dec 2017

Vice President Members

Vice President for Education and Outreach

Jacqualine Grant
Garth and Jerri Frehner Museum of Natural History
Southern Utah University
Utah
United States
jacqualinegrant@suu.edu
Chair of the Student Affairs Committee; Liaison to Working Groups and Fellowship Programs Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2018

Vice President for Membership

Kevin Njabo
University of Tampa
Florida
United States
kynjabo@hotmail.com
VP for Membership
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Vice President for Programs

Sarah Reed
Wildlife Conservation Society
Colorado State University
Colorado
United States
sarah.reed@colostate.edu
Chair of Policy Committee; Liaison to Publications Committee 
Chair of the Policy Committee
Term ends: 30 June 2019

 

Marine Section

Katie Matthews
Oceana
Washington, DC
United States
kmatthews@oceana.org
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 30 June 2019

North America Section

Jessa Madosky
University of Tampa
Florida
United States
jmadosky@ut.edu
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 30 June 2019

Oceania Section

Vanessa Adams
University of Queensland
Australia
v.adams@uq.edu.au
Section Governing Board President
Term ends: 30 June 2019

<

Ombuds

John Robinson
Former SCB President
Chief Conservation Officer, and Executive Vice President
Wildlife Conservation Society
wildcons@gmail.com

Terms of Reference

Regional Section Board Members

Please see the Section webpages for current board member listings